7 Day Cleaning Plan for the Holidays

7 Day (2)When it comes to doing almost anything I have to make a list, I am a list person.  I know what you’re thinking, “she must have a cool app that she makes her lists with.”  Actually, no, I write most of my lists by hand with a pen and a paper in a special notebook.  I know weird right?  Well, my husband used to make fun of me, he doesn’t anymore because I’ve rubbed my weirdness off on him.  My lists can consist of things from the grocery store to my cleaning/to do list. list-372766_1280 (2)

Sometimes when I clean, and it’s usually when someone’s coming over in the next few days or we are going out of town and I want to come home to a clean house, I make a “list”.  I think I like writing lists because there’s so much satisfaction when I get that last thing crossed off the list.  Is anyone as weird as me?  I blame my OCD.

So, what does all of this have to do with the topic of a 7 day cleaning plan?  Honestly, not a whole lot, besides writing down what needs to be cleaned in your home.  This plan is great when you have at least a week before you have guests arriving for the holidays.  Don’t worry, next week I’ll have some guidelines on how to clean your home if you don’t have a ton of time to clean.

I went to a Pinterest party last night and they had a TON of great ideas from how to get fab curls, to awesome homemade gifts, to recipes, and cleaning ideas.  Over the next few weeks, hopefully I’ll get a few posts in about the party and share some great tips for the holidays.

So, here’s my list for your 7 day cleaning plan:

Day 1:

Walk through your home as if you were a visitor (sometimes visitors will see things you don’t notice because you’ve gotten used to it).  You’ll want to get rid of all the clutter.  I usually make piles in the living room of where things should go.  I’ve got a pile for my room, Gretchen’s room, the bathroom, and the kitchen.  Then, after all the cluttery things are sorted, I put them to the room where they belong.

Day 2:

Clean windows and vacuum out window screens, wipe down baseboards, wash and iron window treatments and shower curtains, wash and dry bedding and bedspreads.

Day 3:

Deep clean every bathroom and the medicine cabinets, you know people are sneaky and like to look at your stuff.  Clean up bedrooms and get rid of the clutter, even if that means shoving it under your bed or in your closet.bathroom-437210_1280 (2)

Day 4:

Straighten coat closet and make some room for guests coats and add hangers if needed.  Wash throw rugs, if they are fluffy rugs, set them aside until the day of, if you like.photo-1416339698674-4f118dd3388b

Day 5:

Clean stove top, clean out fridge to make room for party foods or holiday food.  Clean off the top of the fridge (it gets really gross).  Wipe down all appliances on the counter and wipe down all kitchen cabinets.  Take garbage and recycling out.earings (1)

Day 6:

(Outside) Sweep entryway and polish doorknob, decorate the entryway with some seasonal touches.  (Inside) Dust surfaces and make sure to include bookshelves, photo frames, and art (make sure you get that dirty ceiling fan).  Clean out kitchen sink.house-entrance-255132_1280 (2)

Day 7:

This is the last day of cleaning and last minute touchups.  Take out the trash, wipe down any dirty spots in the bathroom or if it’s a little dusty.  I like to use cleaning wipes.  Wipe down counters and mirrors in bathroom and sweep floor if necessary.  Hang up fresh towels and use new soap or fill liquid soap.  Quickly mop kitchen if needed.  Vacuum carpets/rugs and sweep hard floors.  Fluff the sofa cushions and decorative pillows.  Put out some fresh flowers in a vase or light a good smelling candle.

Hopefully, this has helped you be a little less stressed around the holidays.  Don’t forget that I’m offering a Welcome Home Package you can purchase and it comes with a design board and a shopping list of everything your guests might need during their holiday stay at your home.  The Welcome Home Package is only $6.25 right now, so make sure you check out my Etsy listing to purchase.

If you are ready to wow guests for the holidays and don’t know where to start, I’m offering 4 Holiday Decor Packages that are also on sale.  These also include a design board and a shopping list.  These are only $10 on my Etsy page Here.

Have a great weekend!  See you next week!

2 thoughts on “7 Day Cleaning Plan for the Holidays

Leave a Reply

