The Flat Belly Diet: and the Bigger Issues That Can Coencide with “diets” in General

So, I thought I’d go into a little more depth with the flat belly diet.  In one of my most recent posts How I Lost my Baby Weight and Then Some I talked about how this diet is more of a lifestyle change.  I love this diet because you don’t go on it for so many weeks and then go back to the foods you were eating.  I’ve done that when I’ve been on other diets and they don’t work because you start eating the same foods as before and you gain all the weight back.

As I said in my last post, there’s a 4-day anti-bloat “diet”.  It focuses exactly on that, bloat.  These 4 days are definitely the hardest, but it’s better to get the worst days over first right?!  You’ll lose a lot of weight in those first 4 days, up to five pounds.  Then when you go on the regular diet recipes, you’ll still lose weight just not as fast as those first 4 days.  You’ll eat a MUFA (Mono Unsaturated Fatty Acid) at every meal: nuts, avocados, dark chocolate, and oils.  Just remember eat the exact amount of these, don’t over eat or you will gain weight.  These are high in fat, but the good fat.  They are also high in calories, so just make sure you aren’t over eating on these.   If you’re serious about losing weight, I would strongly recommend reading the book, it helped me get super motivated to lose the weight.  You can buy it at amazon for $7, so cheap and so worth it.  I’d also recommend that you do the diet for at least 6 weeks and then be very conscience of what calorie amount you put into your body.  It’s all about your diet that determines if you’re gaining or losing, exercising helps too.  If any of you have questions about the diet, you can contact me by email at ali.sorensen@gmail.com or message me on facebook.

I want to point out a bigger issue that I know is happening in teenage girls and even younger.  A few weeks ago I was coming out of hobby lobby and putting Gretchen in her carseat.  There was a grandma, a mom, and a probably 10-12 year old girl with them.  I don’t remember what she was saying except that she needed to go on a diet.  Are you kidding me!!?? 10-12 years old!  I am lucky right now that my daughter isn’t aware of most of the things that come out of my mouth.  Especially all the negative things, my husband has to keep reminding me that soon she will be able to understand what I’m saying about myself and learn that that’s what she says about herself.  I do have self confidence problems and some of that stems from bigger issues like wanting to lose weight to feel better about myself and other things.  I want my daughter growing up having confidence in herself that she is smart and beautiful and have that confidence that I haven’t had.  How do we teach our children about this?  I think the first step is not to talk negative about ourselves and others.  I know it’s hard not to be negative sometimes, I know I could use the practice.  Young girls having poor self image can lead to poor self esteem and this could potentially lead to anorexia or other eating disorders.

What other things can parents do to help young girls and boys included to feel better about themselves and have a better self image?  I would love your feedback

I just had to add some pictures of my daughter, she is the sweetest girl!!

2 thoughts on “The Flat Belly Diet: and the Bigger Issues That Can Coencide with “diets” in General

Leave a Reply

