DIY Antique Bench that started out as Bunk Beds

For Christmas my sister-in-law wanted to make benches out of my mother-in-laws  antique beds, since the beds aren’t being used.  I was put in charge of making the cushions and pillows for the benches.  Honestly, I was really nervous to make the seat cushions because I don’t and have never done any kind of upholstery.  So, I looked around Logan and found 2 upholsterers in town, I decided the prices they gave me were reasonable and I didn’t want to worry about trying to figure out how to do it myself.  I didn’t know how they would turn out either.  So, I had the upholsterer do the cushions and I focused on the pillows.  I’ve done pillows before and they turned out okay.  I didn’t use actual pillows, I used stuffing and they went flat pretty fast.  So, I wanted to use pillow inserts and I thought doing envelope pillows so the pillow covers could be taken off and washed.  It was super simple, you just need one piece of fabric.

This is for a 20″ pillow form, but you can take off 2″ if you do an 18″ form, I made 2 pillows out of one yard of fabric.

Make sure you pre wash your fabric, you don’t want it to shrink after you’ve made the pillows.

FIRST, cut your fabric. You can either:

a. cut one piece 20 inches wide and 52 inches long (If I remember right, the fabric I had was 45″ wide, I think that’s standard, I just used the whole width and I had plenty).

I cut my fabric to the exact width of the pillow form so it would be tighter and snug instead of loose and floppy.

SECOND, press your fabric with a hot iron. Fold the short ends under about a 1/2 inch and then again another 1/2 inch. Sew the double folded hem down with a top stitch close to the folded open edge.

THIRD, fold the ends of the fabric over with right sides together (or on the inside) and overlap them, I made sure to measure and make sure the envelope flap was in the middle of the back of the pillow and made sure the width measured exact to the pillow form size.

FOURTH, sew or serge up the sides. Use 1/4 inch seam allowance.

FIFTH, turn it right sides out and don’t forget the corners!

These were so easy and you don’t even have to know how to sew that well to make pillows.  Now I want to make some for me!

I thought they turned out fabulous and the cushions look amazing too!!!

Leave a Reply

