Natural Products for your hair

I have pretty much had long hair my whole life, and then a few years ago I cut it to about shoulder length.  I kept it that way for about a year to a year and a half.  I really liked it because it was soooo healthy, but I really missed my long hair.  So, I’ve been trying to grow my hair out for about two years now, and to me it seems like it gets to a certain length and then stops.  Since being pregnant and having a baby, my hair has had it rough.  That and dying it like every two months (so not good for your hair).  It’s been dry and tons of split ends, static-y,  and this last year its been falling out bad.

So, here are a couple of pictures, one of short hair and one of long hair.  My long hair doesn’t look very long!!!

I think we all know that dying your hair is so bad for it and using shampoo that has sulfate is bad too.  I finally decided to do something about it.  I found this amazing blog Almost Exactly, this blog is all about natural or organic ways to clean and maintain your hair and body.  I’ve been reading up on going no ‘poo (no shampoo) or low ‘poo (low shampoo).  The suggestion for going no ‘poo is using baking soda mixed with water.  It totally strips your hair of everything, so it’s bare naked (the suggestion is to use about a TBSP of baking soda for every cup of water).  The baking soda can be extremely drying so you can use a TBSP of Apple Cider Vinegar (raw) with a cup of water to condition it.  Just wash and rinse like normal.

That is the route I started, but went to low ‘poo using Dr. Bronner’s organic liquid soap.  There are natural oils in the soap that help hydrate your hair.  I also use as body wash too and really like it.  Almost Exactly says that if you’re using this soap you can buy a super cheap squeeze bottle and fill 1/5 of the bottle with soap and the rest with distilled water (if you have hard water, the soap will react with the hard water and make your hair super soap scummy).  The soap is more expensive than what I usually buy, but I don’t go through it very fast.  It’s also a good idea if you’re just starting out to go a few days in between your washes (still shower) that way your hair gets used to the natural oils and if you’re not washing as often your hair won’t get so oily.  I’ve been doing this method for about 2-3 weeks and so far I’ve had good results.  You can buy Dr. Bronner’s soap online or try your local stores, I found it at Smiths Marketplace in the health section.

I actually went at got my hair trimmed yesterday (I think the last time was like 6 months ago), I was surprised that my stylist said I’d only need about a 1/2 inch off the bottom.  So, I’d say its working so far, the last time I got my hair trimmed, she cut about 2 inches off.  I’ve also tried a coconut oil hair mask and used coconut oil as a leave in conditioner.  I’ve been hearing for a while that coconut oil is really good for you, but I didn’t realized how good.  It does amazing things for your hair and a little goes a long way.  It is expensive, but it can last you a long time because seriously, a little goes a long way!  The mask is super simple, just get a little oil on you hand and let it melt (it is solid at room temerature) and put it in your hair and comb through it until either the bottom of your hair or the whole head of hair is coated in the oil.  Leave on for about an hour or wrap up in t-shirt and wear to bed.  This is the way I did it.  In the morning wash out with your low ‘poo, it won’t come out if you’ve gone the baking soda route.  You may have to wash 2 times to get it all out.  Comb through with a wide tooth comb and let air dry.  I didn’t take a picture, but it is amazing and it will smell super good.

I’ve also tried letting my hair air dry because we know that all that heat from blow dryers, straighteners, and curling irons are bad for your hair too, yet we still use them.  I do every once in a while use a blow dryer and 1-2 times a week curl my hair with a curling iron.  Alex from Almost Exactly uses Diane, twist flex rods and you can buy them on amazon.  They are super cheap, so I wanted to get them to try, she says her curls stay in for about 3 days.  When I use the curling iron, I’m lucky if mine stay in for a day.

This may seem very hippy, and I guess it is, but I’m willing to try this if it helps my hair be stronger and longer.  If you have questions or want to read up on all the other natural things you can do for your body see the Almost Exactly blog.

Leave a Reply

