Ruffles and Ridges Matching Skirts

So, I’ve been doing a lot of sewing projects lately if you haven’t noticed.  It’s because I get obsessed about projects.  I do one, then I have to keep doing them.  Does anyone else get obsessed about projects like I do???

This project goes hand in hand with the diaper cover I made a few weeks ago.  My fab sister won some ruffles and ridges fabric and didn’t know what to use it for, so I took it off her hands and made a skirt for my baby and one for me!  So exciting and so easy.  I basically measured around my waist and added about 1/2″ or so for the seam.  I tried to make an A-Line skirt, but the fabric wasn’t wide enough, so it is pretty straight.  Then you sew up the sides with a 1/4″ seam allowance.  Then I used a thicker band for the waist, I think it was an 1″ wide.  I used the waist measurements and added a few inches and then sewed right onto the skirt.  You won’t have to worry about using a serger or hemming the bottom because it won’t fray.  I love this skirt, it’s probably my favorite.  I you want a more in depth tutorial, see the Make It Love It blog. She has some great tutorials on all kinds of clothing items.

Leave a Reply

