DIY Bib and Burp Cloth

BookMy husband recently got me a book that has a bunch of sewing projects in it, because I’ve gone a little sewing crazy.  It’s like I want to make everything, is anyone else like that?  I’ve also been following a few sewing blogs, so they’ve inspired me.  This first project I did was a  matching bib and burp cloth.  I’ll worn you now, it really looks nothing like a burp cloth.  My husband has joked that it’s a tiny beach towel for a barbie!!  🙂  There’s been a lot of people having babies since I’ve had mine, so I usually make two of each so I can use one for Gretchen and one for a gift.  This one was much easier than I thought it would be.  You don’t really need a pattern if you already have a bib that is the same size as you want to make.  You can just trace around it, cut it out.  Put right sides together, I used 1/4″ seam allowance, and sew around it (just be careful and go pretty slow around the neck parts because they are small).    Make sure you leave an opening on the side or bottom so you can turn it right side out, and you’ll have to hand sew the opening closed.  I’ve found that if you pin it where it needs to be sewn, it stays in place and is so much easier to hand stitch.  For the front of the bib I used a full piece of terry cloth (bath towel fabric) and cut out a strip of cotton fabric and ironed the top and bottom piece in about 1/4″ and then stitched across just on the edge.  I hope that makes sense.  That way I didn’t have sew all these pieces together, just the pattern right over the terry cloth.  I really like how the bib turned out, I think I’ll make some more!

3 thoughts on “DIY Bib and Burp Cloth

  1. Pingback: Bibs: post 2 with more color options | purelygenuine

  2. Oh, shoot, I had to return my sewing machine, and I’m lucky when I can sew a straight line without breaking thread or a needle, and I STILL want to make everything! It’s great to be enthused about something.

    Like

    • Bunny,
      Thank you for commenting, I’m sorry you had to return your sewing machine. Sometimes I feel like I break a lot of needles in a short amount of time, so I feel for you. I’ve gotten sooo obsessed about making everything with a sewing machine, it’s really fun but sometimes overwhelming because I have a huge list of things I want to make.

      Alison

      Like

Leave a Reply

